Writing, Literature & Publishing Faculty

John Skoyles

Contact Information

Office: Ansin 1223
Phone: 8232
E-Mail »

John Skoyles

Professor and Associate Chair (1994)

B.A. Fairfield University
M.A. University of Iowa
M.F.A. University of Iowa


Professor Skoyles is the author of four books of poems: A Little Faith; Permanent Change; Definition of the Soul and The Situation. He has also published a collection of personal essays, Generous Strangers; a memoir, Secret Frequencies: A New York Education, and an autobiographical novel, A Moveable Famine: A Life in Poetry. Forthcoming books include Suddenly It's Evening: Selected Poems; Inside Job: New Poems, and The Nut File, a collection of hybrid fiction/nonfiction. 

Skoyles's work has appeared in The New York Times and The New Yorker, and he has been awarded two individual fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, as well as grants from the New York State and North Carolina Arts Councils.  He currently serves as the poetry editor of Ploughshares

Watch John Skoyles talk about his work »



  • 1981
  • A Little Faith
  • 1991
  • Permanent Change
  • 1997
  • Generous Strangers
  • 1998
  • Definition of the Soul
  • 2003
  • Secret Frequencies: A New York Education
  • 2007
  • The Situation
  • 2014
  • A Moveable Famine
  • 2016
  • Suddenly It's Evening: Selected Poems

    Inside Job: New Poems

  • 2017
  • The Nut File


  • 1976
  • National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship
  • 1983
  • New York State Arts Council
  • 1987
  • National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship
  • 1989
  • North Carolina State Arts Council