Musical Theatre Society presents Leonidas A. Nickole Award of Distinction to Broadway producer Ken Davenport

Musical Theatre Society

Carrie Sheffield
April 29, 2010

Emerson's Musical Theatre Society presented Broadway producer Ken Davenport with the 2010 Leonidas A. Nickole Award of Distinction April 23 at Emerson's Cutler Majestic Theatre.

Davenport remained on campus to teach a master class the following morning in the Semel Theater.

Davenport is a Broadway and Off-Broadway producer who has worked on a variety of productions, including Oleanna, Speed-the-Plow, You're Welcome America, Blithe Spirit, and 13. Other credits include Altar Boyz, The Awesome 80s Prom, and My First Time. He is currently working on revivals of Godspell and A Few Good Men, and an adaptation of the film Somewhere in Time.

The Leonidas A. Nickole Award of Distinction is awarded annually to distinguished individuals in the field of musical theatre. Past recipients include Stephen Sondheim, Hal Prince, Jerry Mitchell, Bernadette Peters, and Stephen Schwartz.

Taking Opportunities

Performing Arts alumnus Scott Sinclair ’10 knows long hours. While at Emerson, he interned at the SpeakEasy Stage Company. The internship turned into a job. Now, Sinclair is directing his first major performance, Striking 12–a concert with three performers based on the holiday classic The Little Match Girl.

Read more »


Joe Antoun, Artistic Director of NewFest & Part-Time Faculty in Performing Arts

Behind-the-Scenes of NewFest 2011

Learn about how Emerson turns a student-written show into a full-scale production each year. Watch the video »