Vote for Menounos '00 on Dancing with the Stars

Allison Teixeira
March 21, 2012

Alumna Maria Menounos ’00 is a contestant on the current season of the hit ABC show Dancing with the Stars (DWTS). The show features pairs of celebrities and professional dancers performing different styles of ballroom dancing and competing for the title of champion team.

Maria Menounos

Maria Menounos '00, pictured when she visited Emerson to receive the Alumni Award of Distinction at the 30th Annual EVVY Awards, is competing on Dancing with the Stars.

Menounos is host of NBC's Extra, an actress, and author of the New York Times bestselling self-help book The EveryGirl’s Guide to Life. She recently launched AfterBuzzTV.com, an online digital network dedicated to producing wrap-up shows for America's favorite television series.

On DWTS, Menounos and her pro partner, Derek Hough, perform predetermined dances and compete against the others for judges’ points and audience votes. The couple receiving the lowest combined total of judges’ points and audience votes is eliminated each week, until only the champion dance pair remains.

Past celebrity contestants have included professional and Olympic athletes, models, actors, singers, astronauts, and teen heartthrobs. Some of Menounos’s competitors include singers Gavin DeGraw and Gladys Knight, NFL receiver Donald Driver, and comedienne/actress Sherri Shepherd.

DWTS airs Mondays at 8 pm EST/7 pm CST, with the results shows on Tuesdays at 9 pm EST/8 pm CST. To vote for Menounos and Hough following each Monday show, viewers should call 1-800-Vote4-01 or text the word “vote” to 3401 (AT&T customers only.)

You can follow tweets from Menounos at @mariamenounos and from Hough at @derekhough. You can follow the conversation about the team on Twitter at #TeamMenough.

For all the latest videos and photos of Menounos and Hough from the show, visit their team page »

Event

Events Calendar

From workshops to lectures, dances to live productions, the Events Calendar features the latest campus happenings. View the calendar »