For Community Partners

Somali Development Center's Open House

Emerson visits the Somali Development Center's Open House

My organization is looking for:

Sustained student assistance for between three to four months

If your organization is looking for a student, or group of students, to help for a few hours a week (or approximately 20 hours per semester) for the length of a semester (mid-September to the beginning of December, or the end of January through the end of April), you’re in the right place. We connect nonprofit organizations with professors who integrate service into their classrooms so that students can apply what they are learning in real-world capacities. Visit this page to read about what service learning is and to see examples of previous service learning courses.

Suzanne Hinton, Director of the Service Learning and Community Action Office, can reach out to Emerson professors, instructors, and department heads. suzanne_hinton@emerson.edu

Sustained student assistance for between five months to a year, and/or intensive student assistance

If your organization is looking for a student to serve for longer than four months, or an intern to work more than a few hours a week, contact Kathy Tanner, Employer Relations Coordinator in Career Services. katherine_tanner@emerson.edu

Student assistance for a one-time event we are hosting

If your organization is looking for a group of students to help prepare for and/or staff a one-time event, contact:

The Office of Student Life

Steven Martin, Director of Off-Campus Student Services and Community Engagement, helps find volunteer activities for individuals and student organizations. steven_martin@emerson.edu

Jason Meier, Director of Student Activities, advises Greek organizations. jason_meier@emerson.edu

Tikesha Morgan, Director of Multicultural and GLBTQ Resources, advises various cultural affinity groups. tikesha_morgan@emerson.edu

Athletics

Pat Nicol, Athletic Director, can reach out to her staff; all athletes at Emerson are required to participate in service. patricia_nicol@emerson.edu

The Office of Residential Life 

Seth Grue, Associate Director of Housing and Residential Life, can reach out to his staff; all resident assistants are required to schedule service activities for their residents. seth_grue@emerson.edu

Student-generated media

If your organization would like students to create a video, animation, or other forms of media, contact:

Visual and Media Arts Department

Alice Lee, Administrative Assistant/Assistant to the Chair, advertises media opportunities to VMA students. alice_lee@emerson.edu

Television, Radio and Film Department  

Jane Pikor, Production Manager. jane_pikor@emerson.edu

Assistance with donations or drives

Mary Higgins, Director of Government and Community Relations. mary_higgins@emerson.edu

Tutors

Ashley Tarbet, Administrative Associate for the Elma Lewis Center for Civic Engagement, Learning, and Research. ashley_tarbet@emerson.edu