Granting Registration Permissions

Who Can Grant Which Permission

Registration Restriction Permission Granter
Class is restricted to a specific population (e.g.- Freshman only, Seniors only). Department Chair
Student wishes to over-enroll in a full class. Instructor
Student wishes to register for more than one section of a course (e.g. topics courses). Department Assistant
Course is restricted to a specific major and a non-major wishes to add the class. Department Chair
Student does not have the proper prerequisites. Department Chair
Course requires special approval to register (e.g. Dance Coordinator Permission, etc.). Person designated as approver

Note: All VMA course permissions are granted by Colleen Kelly, regardless of the type of registration restriction. Please direct all student requests for VMA courses to her.

The Process

  • If you feel it is appropriate to grant a student one of the above permissions, you will need to email your Department assistant the name of the student, the course code, CRN and the type of permission you are granting.
  • The Department assistant will apply your permission online to the student’s account.
  • The student will then receive an email indicating online permission has been granted, and will be responsible for registering him or herself in the course online.During the second week of add/drop each semester, online registration is turned off, so students will need to visit the Student Service Center to have a class added to their schedules.

Note: The Faculty’s/Department Chair’s role in the permission granting process does not change once the semester begins. You will still only need to email your permission to your Department’s assistant.

Contacts

Department Department Assistant Email Address
Communication Disorders Estelle Ticktin estelle_ticktin@emerson.edu
Institute for Liberal Arts Colleen Heffernan colleen_heffernan@emerson.edu
Journalism Bianca Sedillos Jiron bianca_sedillosjiron@emerson.edu
Marketing Communication Sarah Collins sarah_collins@emerson.edu
Performing Arts SiouxSanna Ramirez-Cruz s_ramirez_cruz@emerson.edu
Visual & Media Arts Colleen Kelly colleen_kelly@emerson.edu
Writing, Literature & Publishing Nicole Martignetti nicole_martignetti@emerson.edu