Writing, Literature & Publishing Faculty

Gail Mazur

Senior Distinguished Writer-in-Residence (1996)

B.A. Smith College
M.A. Lesley College

Gail Mazur

Gail Mazur is author of six books of poems. Her fifth collection, Zeppo's First Wife: New & Selected Poems (Chicago, 2005), won the 2006 Massachusetts Book Award, and was a finalist for the 2005 Los Angeles Times Book Prize and for the 2006 Paterson Poetry Prize. Mazur has authored four earlier books of poetry: Nightfire, The Pose of Happiness, The Common, and They Can't Take That Away from Me (University of Chicago Press), which was a finalist for the National Book Award in 2001. Figures in a Landscape, Mazur's sixth book of poems, will be published in spring 2011 by University of Chicago Press.

Mazur is founding director of the Blacksmith House Poetry Series in Cambridge, Massachusetts, a weekly poetry reading series she ran for 29 years. Her poems have been widely anthologized, and she has given readings and lectures and taught at libraries and universities around the country, including at the graduate programs at University of Houston and University of California at Irvine.

Mazur was a fellow in poetry at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study from 2008-2009, a 1996-97 fellow at the Bunting Institute of Radcliffe College, and the 2005 recipient of the St. Botolph Club Foundation's Distinguished Artist Award. An interview with Mazur about her work is online at The Atlantic and in the 2008 Provincetown Arts magazine. Mazur serves on the Writing Committee, the Board of Trustees, and the Summer Program Committee of the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, MA.

Watch Gail Mazur talk about her work »

They Can't Take That Away From Me Cover The Pose of Happiness Cover The Common Cover


Office: Ansin 1118B

Phone: 3753

E-Mail: Gail_Mazur@emerson.edu

Megan MarshallWLP Professor Megan Marshall and the emersonWRITES program participate in the launch and unveiling of Boston as the country's first Literary Cultural District.

Read more »

Michelle Bailat JonesMichelle Bailat-Jones (MFA '05)
won the inaugral Christopher Doheny award for her novel Fog Island Mountains. The award recognizes a book-lenth work of fiction or nonfiction exploring the experience of serious illness and includes a $10,000 prize as well as publication and promotion of the book in print and audio editions.

Read more »