Writing, Literature & Publishing Faculty

DeWitt Henry

Professor (1983)

A.B. Amherst College
M.A. Harvard University
Ph.D. Harvard University

DeWitt Henry

DeWitt Henry is the author of Sweet Dreams: A Family History and Safe Suicide, a memoir in linked essays, and of The Marriage of Anna Maye Potts (winner of the inaugural Peter Taylor Prize for the Novel) as well as the editor of anthologies, including Breaking Into Print, Sorrow's Company: Writers on Loss and Grief, Fathering Daughters: Reflections by Men (with James Alan McPherson), Other Sides of Silence: New Fiction from Ploughshares, and The Ploughshares Reader: New Fiction for the 80's (winner of the Editor's Book Award).

The Founding Editor of Ploughshares, and for the first twenty years its Executive Director (for which he won a Massachusetts Commonwealth Award in 1992), he also served as Interim Director/Editor-in-Chief for fifteen months prior to the appointment of the new Director/Editor-in-Chief in the fall of 2008; and most recently served as guest editor of the 40th Anniversary fall edition of Ploughshares.

Watch Dewitt Henry talk about his work »

The Marriage of Anna Maye Potts Cover Fathering Daughters Cover Sorrow's Company: Writer's on Loss and Grief Cover Breaking Into Print: Early Stories and Insights Into Getting Published Cover 


Office: Ansin 1010

Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 10-11:30

Phone: 8241

E-Mail: Dewitt_Henry@emerson.edu

Megan MarshallWLP Professor Megan Marshall and the emersonWRITES program participate in the launch and unveiling of Boston as the country's first Literary Cultural District.

Read more »

Michelle Bailat JonesMichelle Bailat-Jones (MFA '05)
won the inaugral Christopher Doheny award for her novel Fog Island Mountains. The award recognizes a book-lenth work of fiction or nonfiction exploring the experience of serious illness and includes a $10,000 prize as well as publication and promotion of the book in print and audio editions.

Read more »