Writing, Literature & Publishing Faculty

William Orem

Senior Writer-in-Residence (2007)

B.A. Hampshire College
M.F.A. Indiana University
Ph.D. Indiana University

William Orem

William Orem writes in multiple genres.  His stories and poems have been published in over 100 journals, including in The Princeton Arts Review, Alaska Quarterly Review and The New Formalist, and have twice been nominated for the Pushcart Prize.  His first collection of stories, Zombi, You My Love, won the GLCA New Writers Award, previously given to Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, Richard Ford and Alice Munro.  His second collection, Across the River, won the Clay Reynolds Novella Prize.  His historical novel Killer of Crying Deer was published in September of 2010.  Meanwhile his first collection of poems, Our Purpose in Speaking, has been honored three times as a finalist in national competitions including, most recently, the Neruda Prize.

Orem's play The Seabirds won the Manduzmar New Plays Award at Alleyway Theatre in Buffalo. Other plays of his have been performed in Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, San Diego, Louisville and Boston, with a staged reading at Urban Stages in Manhattan.  He has twice been nominated for the Heideman Award at Actors Theater of Louisville, and his plays have been published in BTM, Conclave and  The Best 10-Minute Plays 2009. Locally, his work has been in the Boston Theater Marathon for the past three summers running.

Orem also works as a popular science journalist. He currently writes a blog for the Foundational Questions Institute, an MIT-based organization that funds research into mind-bending physics and cosmology. 

William Orem - Across the River William Orem - Killing of Crying Deer


Office: Ansin 1017B

Phone: 3695

E-Mail: William_Orem@emerson.edu

Megan MarshallWLP Professor Megan Marshall and the emersonWRITES program participate in the launch and unveiling of Boston as the country's first Literary Cultural District.

Read more »

Michelle Bailat JonesMichelle Bailat-Jones (MFA '05)
won the inaugral Christopher Doheny award for her novel Fog Island Mountains. The award recognizes a book-lenth work of fiction or nonfiction exploring the experience of serious illness and includes a $10,000 prize as well as publication and promotion of the book in print and audio editions.

Read more »